Type in your suggestion - new feature or improvement idea

Return to recently used folder after inserting file or image

When I insert a file or image into a webpage and then go back to insert another, I'm always returned to the topline "resources" folder. I would much prefer to be returned to the folder in which I had last been working -- as I am often adding more than one item at a time, and they are all in the same folder. As it stands, I need to navigate through the entire folder system each time I insert a file or image.

13 votes
Sign in
Check!
(thinking…)
Reset
or sign in with
  • facebook
  • google
    Password icon
    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    Barefootgal shared this idea  ·   ·  Flag idea as inappropriate…  ·  Admin →

    5 comments

    Sign in
    Check!
    (thinking…)
    Reset
    or sign in with
    • facebook
    • google
      Password icon
      Signed in as (Sign out)
      Submitting...
      • kolarsmmj commented  ·   ·  Flag as inappropriate

        Allow administrators to set the default folder for the File Tool. Right now opening the File tool always defaults to the Resources/Documents folder. Allow us to set a default folder. Alternatively, having it default to the last used folder would be work also.

      • PBerrie Centrepoint commented  ·   ·  Flag as inappropriate

        Remembers what I as a user use - at the moment I have to click through to my files - in earlier versions it would remember where I last took a file from.

      • AdminTeam CMS (Website CMS and Themes, Wild Apricot by Personify) commented  ·   ·  Flag as inappropriate

        Hi,

        Actually, this functionality is already present in our system, but there is a small peculiarity.
        If you insert an image that is located in "Pictures" folder or in any subfolders inside "Pictures" folder, then this folder is remembered, and every time you try to insert new image, you will be returned to your previous location. But if previously inserted image located not in "Pictures" folder (nor in it's subfolders), next time you open insert image dialogue, then you will be returned to root of "Pictures" folder.
        The same with documents. System remembers last used path used for attaching files only if they were inserted from "Documents" folder or from it's subfolders.

        This behavior was made when we made last changes to insert image dialog. We would appreciate, if you could give us more details on how would you like system to behave in this case.

      • marykathryn commented  ·   ·  Flag as inappropriate

        this is frustrating to me as well! every time I go to add a file or image it automatically sends me to resources>pictures. I have accidentally added so many files there. Please make it default to last opened.

      • [Deleted User] commented  ·   ·  Flag as inappropriate

        If WA makes this a default, it needs to make sure it uses the last folder used by that specific user. We have 15 Admins and the last folder used/desired for one Admin is not likely the same folder desired for the other 14 Admins.

      Feedback and Knowledge Base